NCBG Timeline


The Department of Biology is separated into two departments: the Botany Department and the Zoology Department, located in Davie Hall adjacent to the Coker Arboretum. (In 1982, the Botany Dept and Zoology Dept are merged into a single Dept of Biology).

This is the observed founding date of the UNC Herbarium.The Botany Department moves to Davie Hall, adjacent to the Coker Arboretum, as a department separate from the Department of Biology, with space for an herbarium. Dr. Coker heads the department and is the first curator of the UNC Herbarium. It becomes the main repository for rare plants inventoried by the North Carolina Heritage Program beginning in 1976.

ID: 7
Modified by: Knauff
Last Update: 2017-01-11
Publish: 1

Go back